Oslo, Norway a long weekend – Expensive, was it?

This trip didn’t nearly happen. I hadn’t been well for several weeks, I had seen my GP(Doctor), and he had prescribed some steroids and antibiotics for a chest infection. On starting the treatment, this worked fast, which was great. However, on completing the medicine, the infection return worst than before, and I was travelling within a few days. I started the treatment again and continued with it while away with no problems. The infection had gone. While taking this medication, some of my other medicines had to be stopped and given time before restarting my regular medication. In this blog, I try to focus on the positives of living my life with this condition and not focusing on the negatives. Also, how life goes on, but differently from before, as with all life, we need to adapt and develop throughout our lives, and this is just one stage of my life.

I had been to Oslo in the early 1980’s inter-railing, you used to be able to purchase a European Rail Card which allowed you to travel the European rail network. Back then, I went to Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Germany, France, Spain & Portugal. When you’re young, you have no fear, well, mostly!  Travelling opened my mind to other cultures and the way people are different and the same at the same time. Confusing, I know. Once you start travelling and start meeting people overseas and you are not a native speaker to learn lots about yourself.

Anyway, on arriving in Olso back in the 1980s, I arrived late in the afternoon about 17:00. By coming earlier, you can visit the Tourist Information Centre, where they offer free maps and cheap accommodation options. Unfortunately, the centre was now closed, and I couldn’t find affordable accommodation. So I was stuck with nowhere to stay! However, at that time, I had a credit card for emergencies. This was one of those times that I needed to use it. So I booked into the Carlton Hotel. (£99 per night back then) Because of this expense, I stayed only one night in Oslo, and it was a real shame!

Jump thirty plus years forward, and we visited Olso as a family. Had things changed! Were things still expensive?

Well, let’s find out.

SAS Flight to Oslo Norway

Out of the plane window, I am flying over Norway.

We like travelling to Scandinavia on a regularly, so we usually use SAS these are generally small planes, and they are strict on hand luggage weights. So be careful about your luggage weights.

Anyway, we had done our research and booked our flights when there was a SAS flight sale. Our trip was less then £99 single, while we were there, I looked at the flight cost. I was shocked it was over £450 single from Heathrow UK. Money saved on flights.

My wife researched hotels extensively before we booked. We decided on Thon; this is the largest hotel chain in Oslo. I suppose I would say they are a bit like the Premier Inn in the UK. We stayed at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium which was close and in walking distance of Aker Brygge in downtown Oslo. Ideal for eateries and bars, however, remember that children are not allowed in bars/restaurants after about 7:30 pm. Money saved on accommodation, it all adds up.

Vigeland Park

The park is a great place to soak up the Norwegian culture. All sulpltures are by Gustav Vigeland

vidar-nordli-mathisen-OcmiG2j0hoc-unsplash
7DB81A90-6221-4DBA-994C-3F9E23EFB82B

I would be interested in anybody’s travel hacks.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.